17th International Conference on Information Systems for Crisis Response and Management

Call for Papers

The 2020 ISCRAM conference invites three types of paper submissions:

  • CoRe - Completed Research (from 4000 to 8000 words).
  • WiP - Work In Progress (from 3000 to 6000 words).
  • Practitioner (from 500 to 3000 words).

CoRe papers are longer in length and describe completed research studies. WiP papers are shorter and meant to describe smaller, more focused research findings or research that is still in progress. Both of these paper types undergo a rigorous peer-review process and will be archived in the ISCRAM digital library.

While practitioners are also invited to submit a CoRe or WiP paper, we recognize that an academic review process is often not appropriate for practitioner contributions. These authors may instead submit a 500-3,000 word Practitioner paper — a format new to the conference this year. We particularly encourage submissions describing real-world experiences and case studies of interest to the ISCRAM conference. Practitioner submissions will be reviewed according to relevance and ability to contribute to discussions rather than by standard academic criteria. Accepted Practitioner submissions will also be included as extended abstracts in the conference proceedings.

Click on the button at the bottom of this page to make your submission through EasyChair.

Please use the following templates for all submissions:

All articles must be submitted to one of the tracks below. Once submitted, articles will be distributed for evaluation among the pool of reviewers according to their domain of expertise and the topics addressed by the paper. Accepted papers will be organized in sessions at the conference that will be distributed among the tracks.

Papers related to the conference theme, "Bringing resilience into focus", are particularly welcome.

Paper Tracks

Track 1 - AI Systems for Crisis and Risks
Chairs: Antonio De Nicola, Hedi Karray, Nada Matta, Hemant Purohit, Fiona McNeill

Track 2 - Analytical Modeling and Simulation
Chairs: Josey Chacko, Andrew Arnette, Duygu Pamukçu, Christopher Zobel

Track 3 - Command & Control Studies
Chairs: Björn JE Johansson, Peter Berggren, Nicoletta Baroutsi

Track 4 - Cross-Border Resilience
Chairs: Marcus Wiens, Eric Rigaud, Frank Fiedrich, Anouck Adrot

Track 5 - Data and resilience: opportunities and challenges
Chairs: Anouck Adrot, Kees Boersma, Jaziar Radianti, Ioannis Dokas

Track 6 - Enhancing resilient response in inter-organizational contexts: Learning from experience
Chairs: Niklas Hallberg, Björn JE Johansson, Magdalena Granåsen

Track 7 - Ethical, Legal, and Social Issues
Chairs: Monika Buscher, Katrina Petersen, Susan Anson, Lixiong Chen

Track 8 - Geospatial Technologies and Geographic Information Science for Crisis Management (GIS)
Chairs: João Porto de Albuquerque, Alexander Zipf, Flávio E. A. Horita

Track 9 - Managing Privacy in Critical Infrastructures
Chairs: Javier Parra-Arnau, Jordi Forné Muñoz

Track 10 - Planning, Foresight and Risk Analysis
Chairs: Victor A. Bañuls, Murray Turoff

Track 11 - Practitioner-centered Logistics and Supply Chain Management in Crisis Response
Chairs: George Fenton, Bernd Hellingrath, Gyöngyi Kovács, Adam Widera

Track 12 - Resilience in Critical Infrastructures
Chairs: Sandra König, Stefan Schauer, Stefan Rass

Track 13 - Social Media for Disaster Response and Resilience
Chairs: Muhammad Imran, Starr Roxanne Hiltz, Christian Reuter, Linda Plotnick, Doina Caragea, Amanda Lee Hughes

Track 14 - Technologies for First Responders
Chairs: Evangelos Sdongos, Angelos Amditis, Petros Daras, Anastasios Dimou, Federico Jesús Carvajal Rodrigo, Tiina Ristmäe

Track 15 - Tool Talks
Chairs: Bas Lijnse, Jürgen Moßgraber, Anastasios Karakostas

Track 16 - Usability and Universal Design of ICT for Emergency Management
Chairs: Terje Gjøsæter, Jaziar Radianti, Weiqin Chen, Erion Elmasllari

Track 17 - Using Artificial Intelligence to exploit Satellite Data in Risk and Crisis Management
Chairs: Paolo Garza, Claudio Rossi, Alessandro Farasin, Laura López Fuentes

Track 18 - Visions for Future Crisis Management
Chairs: Anne-Marie Barthe-Delanoë, Aurelie Montarnal, Rob Grace

Track 19 - Other
Chairs: Amanda Hughes and Fiona McNeill

Important Dates

Submission deadline for CoRe papers: December 6, 2019 - submission closed

Notification of decision for CoRe papers: January 17, 2020

Submission deadline for WiP and Practitioner papers: January 28, 2020 - submission closed

Notification of decision for WiP and Practitioner papers: February 28, 2020

Virginia Tech Contact:

Facebook     Twitter     LinkedIn     Instagram